Portfolio Scope and Selection Rules
The Catalyst 1300 and 1300X portfolio consists of fixed, managed Layer 3 switches running customized Linux software. The supplied datasheet lists 36 switch models covering Gigabit access, multigigabit access, and 10 Gigabit aggregation. It does not list modular switch chassis, line cards, or field-replaceable uplink modules. SFP-family transceivers and cables are listed separately below.
Selection should follow five engineering gates:
- Endpoint interfaces: Match copper speed, fiber requirements, and actual simultaneous port count. A combo port supports one active medium at a time.
- Power delivery: Check both the endpoint’s per-port requirement and the switch’s aggregate PoE budget.
- Routing scale: Select C1300X where OSPF v2/v3 is required. Do not assume that a C1300 access switch gains the routing scale of the 10 Gigabit aggregation models merely because it has SFP+ uplinks.
- Stack compatibility: Stacking is restricted to explicitly listed families. Cross-family stacking is unsupported.
- Installation conditions: Confirm enclosure depth, acoustics, cold-start temperature, electrical demand, mounting hardware, and replacement arrangements before quoting.
Complete Fixed and Compact Switch Matrix
All models below are rack-mountable according to the ordering table. Model and order PID are identical except for the explicitly noted C1300-12XT entry.
Notation:
- G = 1 Gigabit Ethernet; 2.5G, 5G, and 10G indicate listed interface speeds.
- SFP = Gigabit fiber slot; SFP+ = 10G slot.
- C = copper/fiber combo, counted once.
- Performance is switching capacity in Gbps / forwarding rate in mpps at 64-byte packets.
- PoE values are aggregate watts, not guaranteed power on every port simultaneously.
- “-” means no PoE listed.
Gigabit Access with Gigabit Uplinks
These models are not included in the hardware stacking support list.
| Model / order PID | Copper access | Additional interfaces | PoE W | Gbps / mpps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C1300-8T-E-2G | 8 x G | 2 x G C | – | 20 / 14.88 |
| C1300-8P-E-2G | 8 x G | 2 x G C | 67 | 20 / 14.88 |
| C1300-8FP-2G | 8 x G | 2 x G C | 120 | 20 / 14.88 |
| C1300-16T-2G | 16 x G | 2 x SFP | – | 36 / 26.78 |
| C1300-16P-2G | 16 x G | 2 x SFP | 120 | 36 / 26.78 |
| C1300-16FP-2G | 16 x G | 2 x SFP | 240 | 36 / 26.78 |
| C1300-24T-4G | 24 x G | 4 x SFP | – | 56 / 41.67 |
| C1300-24P-4G | 24 x G | 4 x SFP | 195 | 56 / 41.67 |
| C1300-24FP-4G | 24 x G | 4 x SFP | 375* | 56 / 41.67 |
| C1300-48T-4G | 48 x G | 4 x SFP | – | 104 / 77.38 |
| C1300-48P-4G | 48 x G | 4 x SFP | 375* | 104 / 77.38 |
| C1300-48FP-4G | 48 x G | 4 x SFP | 740 | 104 / 77.38 |
C1300 Stacking Family 1: Access with 10G Uplinks
| Model / order PID | Copper access | Uplinks | PoE W | Gbps / mpps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C1300-16P-4X | 16 x G | 4 x SFP+ | 120 | 112 / 83.32 |
| C1300-24T-4X | 24 x G | 4 x SFP+ | – | 128 / 95.23 |
| C1300-24P-4X | 24 x G | 4 x SFP+ | 195 | 128 / 95.23 |
| C1300-24FP-4X | 24 x G | 4 x SFP+ | 375* | 128 / 95.23 |
| C1300-48T-4X | 48 x G | 4 x SFP+ | – | 176 / 130.94 |
| C1300-48P-4X | 48 x G | 4 x SFP+ | 375* | 176 / 130.94 |
| C1300-48FP-4X | 48 x G | 4 x SFP+ | 740 | 176 / 130.94 |
| C1300-8MGP-2X | 4 x G + 4 x 2.5G | 2 x SFP+ | 120 | 68 / 50.60 |
| C1300-24MGP-4X | 16 x G + 8 x 2.5G | 4 x SFP+ | 375 | 152 / 113.08 |
| C1300-48MGP-4X | 32 x G + 16 x 2.5G | 4 x SFP+ | 740 | 224 / 166.65 |
*The dedicated PoE table specifies 375W, while the ordering descriptions specify 370W for these four models. Resolve this discrepancy before committing to a power allocation above 370W.
C1300 Stacking Family 2: 10G Aggregation
Each model includes one additional Gigabit out-of-band management port. No PoE is listed.
| Model | Order PID | 10G data interfaces | Gbps / mpps |
|---|---|---|---|
| C1300-12XT-2X | C1300-12XT | 12 copper + 2 SFP+ | 280 / 208.33 |
| C1300-12XS | C1300-12XS | 10 SFP+ + 2 C | 240 / 178.57 |
| C1300-16XTS | C1300-16XTS | 8 copper + 8 SFP+ | 320 / 238.1 |
| C1300-24XS | C1300-24XS | 20 SFP+ + 4 C | 480 / 357.14 |
| C1300-24XT | C1300-24XT | 20 copper + 4 C | 480 / 357.14 |
| C1300-24XTS | C1300-24XTS | 12 copper + 12 SFP+ | 480 / 357.12 |
The model/order PID difference for C1300-12XT-2X is reproduced from the source and requires distributor confirmation.
C1300X Stacking Family
SFP28 interfaces support 10G uplinks; 25G operation is available for stacking only.
| Model / order PID | Copper access and per-port PoE | SFP28 | PoE W | Gbps / mpps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| C1300X-24T-4X | 24 x G, no PoE | 4 | – | 128 / 95.23 |
| C1300X-48T-4X | 48 x G, no PoE | 4 | – | 176 / 130.95 |
| C1300X-24P-4X | 24 x G, 30W | 4 | 385 | 128 / 95.23 |
| C1300X-48P-4X | 48 x G, 30W | 4 | 740 | 176 / 130.95 |
| C1300X-24MU-4X | 16 x 2.5G, 30W + 8 x 2.5G, 60W | 4 | 740 | 200 / 148.80 |
| C1300X-10NU-2X | 10 x 5G, 60W | 2 | 385 | 140 / 104.16 |
| C1300X-24NGU-4X | 16 x G, 30W + 8 x 5G, 60W | 4 | 740 | 192 / 142.85 |
| C1300X-48NGU-4X | 40 x G, 30W + 8 x 5G, 60W | 4 | 740 | 240 / 178.57 |
The general C1300X PoE table groups the P models under 802.3bt/802.3at. Their ordering descriptions explicitly specify 30W ports; do not quote them as 60W-capable without clarification.
Forwarding, Routing, and Stack Sizing
The datasheet describes all switches as wire-speed and nonblocking. This does not remove uplink or stack-path constraints. Reserve front-panel interfaces for stacking before calculating available uplink capacity, and size traffic crossing those links separately from local switching.
| Resource | C1300 Gigabit class | C1300 10G class | C1300X |
|---|---|---|---|
| IPv4 dynamic + static routes | 990 | 7168 | 7168 |
| IP interfaces | 128 | 256 | 256 |
| ACL rules | 1024 | 2048 | 3072 |
| MAC table | 16,000 | 32,000 | 32,000 |
| IGMP multicast groups | 2000 | 4000 | 4000 |
| DRAM | 1 GB DDR4 | 1 GB DDR4 | 2 GB DDR4 |
The source calls the larger MAC-table entries “rules.” IPv6 wire-speed routing is supported, but an IPv6 route-count limit is not provided.
Both series support RIP v2, static routing, IPv4/IPv6 policy-based routing, routed physical ports, LAG interfaces, VLAN interfaces, and loopbacks. OSPF v2/v3 is restricted to C1300X. IPv4 DHCP server, Layer 3 DHCP relay, and UDP relay are included.
Stacking supports up to eight switches and up to 400 managed ports, with active/standby control, hardware failover, ring or chain topology, hot-swappable members, and cross-stack LAG. These capabilities do not establish a zero-loss failover guarantee or hitless upgrade specification.
Packet buffers are dynamically shared:
- Most C1300 access models: 1.5 MB.
- C1300-48MGP-4X and the three compact 10G aggregation models: 3 MB.
- C1300-24XS, C1300-24XT, and C1300-24XTS: 8 MB.
- C1300X: 3 MB, except C1300X-48NGU-4X at 8 MB.
For burst-sensitive aggregation, assess shared-buffer capacity as well as forwarding rate.
PoE and Electrical Engineering
C1300 PoE models provide 802.3af, 802.3at, and listed legacy PoE support. Ordering descriptions specify 30W access ports. Selected C1300X multigigabit ports provide 60W 802.3bt Type 3.
Sizing rule: Sum the intended endpoint power allocations, then verify both the aggregate budget and each port’s supported power class.
For example, the C1300X-10NU-2X has ten 60W-capable ports but only 385W aggregate capacity. It cannot supply ten simultaneous 60W allocations. Similarly, the 740W C1300X-24MU-4X budget must cover both its eight 60W ports and sixteen 30W ports.
Persistent PoE maintains endpoint power during switch reboot. Scheduled PoE and scheduled port operation are supported. Persistent PoE is not a substitute for backup AC power.
Power inputs are 100-240V, 50-60 Hz. C1300-8T-E-2G and C1300-8P-E-2G use external supplies; other listed models use internal supplies.
Size branch circuits and UPS equipment from input consumption, not PoE budget alone. Examples from the worst-case table:
| Model | Input with PoE, 110V / 220V | Listed heat, BTU/hr |
|---|---|---|
| C1300-8P-E-2G | 87.89 / 84.86W | 299.91 |
| C1300-48FP-4X | 874.52 / 831.71W | 2983.99 |
| C1300X-24NGU-4X | 909.8 / 870.8W | 3104.3 |
The C1300X-24T-4X idle values exceed its listed worst-case system values. Treat that row as unresolved rather than deriving an energy model from it.
Segmentation, Security, and Operations
Layer 2 features include RSTP enabled by default, 16 MSTP instances, and 126 PVST+/Rapid PVST+ instances. LACP supports eight groups, eight active ports per group, and sixteen candidate ports per dynamic group.
The VLAN specification lists up to 4094 VLANs, with IDs 4078-4094 reserved internally. Available functions include private VLANs, protected ports, voice VLAN, surveillance VLAN, VLAN translation, Q-in-Q, and selective Q-in-Q.
For access security, combine 802.1X or web authentication with appropriate VLAN assignment. DHCP snooping, IP Source Guard, and Dynamic ARP Inspection provide complementary IPv4 binding checks. IPv6 controls include RA guard, DHCPv6 guard, ND inspection, and neighbor-binding integrity checks. Guest segmentation should include both Layer 2 isolation and explicit routed-access policy.
QoS provides eight hardware queues, strict priority, WRR, DSCP/CoS classification, ingress policing, and egress shaping. Jumbo frames reach 9000 bytes; the listed default MTU is 2000 bytes.
Management options include Business Dashboard with embedded probe, mobile application, browser GUI, scriptable CLI, SNMP v1/v2c/v3, and Network Plug and Play. Prefer supported encrypted management methods such as HTTPS, SSH, SCP, and SNMPv3.
Operational visibility includes syslog, sFlow, RMON, RSPAN, cable diagnostics, and port/VLAN mirroring. Up to eight source ports or eight source VLANs can mirror to one destination. Dual firmware images support recovery planning but do not establish uninterrupted upgrades.
Environmental, Physical, Acoustic, and Reliability Specifications
All listed models operate from -5 to 50 C, but cold start requires at least 0 C. Storage is -25 to 70 C. Operating and storage humidity are 10%-90%, noncondensing.
The following matrix provides dimensions, cooling, and MTBF for every switch. All heights are 43.94 mm. Acoustic readings and MTBF are specified at 25 C. “F/-” means fanless with no acoustic value supplied, not a measured 0 dBA.
| Model | W x D, mm | Fans / dBA | MTBF, hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| C1300-8T-E-2G | 268 x 185 | F/- | 2,865,360 |
| C1300-8P-E-2G | 268 x 185 | F/- | 2,865,360 |
| C1300-8FP-2G | 268 x 297 | F/- | 2,865,360 |
| C1300-16T-2G | 268 x 272 | F/- | 912,776 |
| C1300-16P-2G | 268 x 297 | F/- | 412,959 |
| C1300-16FP-2G | 268 x 323.3 | F/- | 309,224 |
| C1300-24T-4G | 444.3 x 240 | F/- | 664,987 |
| C1300-24P-4G | 444.3 x 299 | F/- | 396,413 |
| C1300-24FP-4G | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / 39 | 500,161 |
| C1300-48T-4G | 444.3 x 288 | 1 / 29.7 | 1,473,382 |
| C1300-48P-4G | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / 37.3 | 1,662,884 |
| C1300-48FP-4G | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / 48.7 | 1,469,406 |
| C1300-16P-4X | 268 x 297 | F/- | 426,778 |
| C1300-24T-4X | 444.3 x 240 | F/- | 646,083 |
| C1300-24P-4X | 444.3 x 299 | F/- | 337,232 |
| C1300-24FP-4X | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / 39 | 389,607 |
| C1300-48T-4X | 444.3 x 288 | 1 / 29.7 | 1,473,382 |
| C1300-48P-4X | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / 37.3 | 1,469,406 |
| C1300-48FP-4X | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / 48.7 | 1,469,406 |
| C1300-8MGP-2X | 268 x 298 | F/- | 561,618 |
| C1300-24MGP-4X | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / <39 | 359,908 |
| C1300-48MGP-4X | 444.3 x 350 | 1 / <39 | 310,984 |
| C1300-12XT-2X | 268 x 300 | 1 / 28.5 | 1,198,404 |
| C1300-12XS | 268 x 300 | 1 / 29.5 | 1,226,587 |
| C1300-16XTS | 268 x 300 | 1 / 28.7 | 1,201,527 |
| C1300-24XS | 444.3 x 286 | 1 / 27.6 | 993,232 |
| C1300-24XT | 444.3 x 286 | 1 / 28.7 | 945,878 |
| C1300-24XTS | 444.3 x 273 | 1 / <39 | 427,188 |
| C1300X-24T-4X | 444.3 x 270 | 1 / 20.3 | 458,135 |
| C1300X-48T-4X | 444.3 x 270 | 1 / 21.6 | 324,549 |
| C1300X-24P-4X | 444.3 x 270 | 1 / 44.5 | 368,309 |
| C1300X-48P-4X | 444.3 x 340 | 1 / 48.6 | 251,255 |
| C1300X-24MU-4X | 444.3 x 270 | 1 / 47.9 | 321,420 |
| C1300X-10NU-2X | 268 x 308 | 1 / 38.9 | 470,352 |
| C1300X-24NGU-4X | 444.3 x 270 | 1 / 49.5 | 343,272 |
| C1300X-48NGU-4X | 444.3 x 340 | 2 / 49.2 | 216,091 |
The C1300-24XTS metric depth conflicts with its supplied inch equivalent; the matrix preserves the metric figure. Listed weights range from 1.39 kg to 6.48 kg.
For occupied rooms, use model-specific acoustics rather than the general compact-design description. All C1300X models have fans. MTBF figures are not replacement SLAs or guaranteed operating lifetimes.
Pluggable Modules and Cable SKU Matrix
The following reconstructs the listed pluggable inventory. Multiple SKUs in a row share specifications unless distances are mapped explicitly.
| SKU(s) | Media / speed | Listed reach |
|---|---|---|
| MGBSX1; GLC-SX-MMD | MMF / 1G | 500 m; 550 m |
| MGBLX1; GLC-LH-SMD; GLC-BX-U; GLC-BX-D | SMF / 1G | 10 km |
| MGBLH1; GLC-EX-SMD | SMF / 1G | 40 km |
| GLC-ZX-SMD | SMF / 1G | 70 km |
| MGBT1; GLC-TE | Cat 5e / 1G | 100 m |
| CWDM-SFP-1470; CWDM-SFP-1490; CWDM-SFP-1510; CWDM-SFP-1530; CWDM-SFP-1550; CWDM-SFP-1570; CWDM-SFP-1590; CWDM-SFP-1610 | SMF / 1G | 80 km |
| SFP-H10GB-CU1M; SFP-H10GB-CU3M; SFP-H10GB-CU5M | Copper coax / 10G | 1; 3; 5 m |
| SFP-10G-SR; SFP-10G-SR-S | MMF / 10G | 26-400 m |
| SFP-10G-LR; SFP-10G-LR-S; SFP-10G-BXD-I; SFP-10G-BXU-I | SMF / 10G | 10 km |
| SFP-10G-ER; SFP-10G-ER-S | SMF / 10G | 40 km |
| SFP-10G-T-X | Cat 6A/Cat 7 or better / 10G | 30 m |
| SFP-H10GB-CU15M | Twinax / 10G | 5 m as printed; verify |
| SFP-H10GB-CU2M; SFP-H10GB-CU25M | Twinax / 10G | 2; 2.5 m |
| SFP-H10GB-ACU7M; SFP-H10GBACU10M | Twinax / 10G | 7; 10 m |
| SFP-10G-AOC1M; SFP-10G-AOC2M; SFP-10G-AOC3M; SFP-10G-AOC5M; SFP-10G-AOC7M; SFP-10G-AOC10M | AOC / 10G | 1; 2; 3; 5; 7; 10 m |
| SFP-25G-AOC1M; SFP-25G-AOC2M; SFP-25G-AOC3M; SFP-25G-AOC4M; SFP-25G-AOC5M; SFP-25G-AOC7M; SFP-25G-AOC10M | AOC / 25G | 1; 2; 3; 4; 5; 7; 10 m |
| SFP-H25G-CU1M; SFP-H25G-CU1.5M; SFP-H25G-CU2M; SFP-H25G-CU2.5M; SFP-H25G-CU3M; SFP-H25G-CU4M; SFP-H25G-CU5M | Passive twinax / 25G | 1; 1.5; 2; 2.5; 3; 4; 5 m |
| SFP-25G-SL | MMF / 25G | 20/30 m, OM3/OM4 |
| SFP-25G-SR-S | MMF / 25G | 70/100 m, OM3/OM4 |
| SFP-10/25G-CSR-S | MMF / 10/25G | 300/400 m, OM3/OM4; fiber-dependent |
| SFP-10/25G-LR-S; SFP-10/25G-LR-I | SMF / 10/25G | 10 km |
For SFP-10/25G-LR-I, the source permits engineered links up to 15 km with channel insertion loss below 9.3 dB and RS-FEC required. This does not override the switch restriction of 25G to stacking.
The listed 10 Gigabit copper and SFP+ ports support 10G and 1G. Do not infer intermediate copper speeds for those ports.
Accessories, Warranty, and Procurement Controls
| Accessory SKU | Description / stated compatibility |
|---|---|
| CAB-CONSOLE-RJ45 | 6-foot RJ-45 console cable; all models |
| CAB-CONSOLE-USB-C; CAB-CONSOLE-USB-C= | USB-C console cable; all models |
| RCKMNT-1RU-1K= | 1 RU rack kit; all 24/48-port models |
| RCKMNT-CMPCT-1K= | 19-inch compact bracket; all 8/12/16-port models |
| PWRADPT-WM-18-xx; PWRADPT-WM-18-NA= | 18W power adapters; switch compatibility not specified |
Adapter country codes listed are NA, TW, JP, EU, UK, AU, AR, BR, CN, IN, and KR. Do not select the 18W adapter for a PoE switch without explicit compatibility confirmation. The accessory table does not specify rack-kit compatibility for the 10-port C1300X model.
Only 24- and 48-port models include 19-inch rack brackets. A power cord, or adapter for selected 8-port models, is included unless NO-POWER-CORD is selected.
Warranty is limited lifetime with return-to-factory replacement. The datasheet also provides complimentary one-year Small Business Support Center access. It does not specify advance replacement, onsite service, replacement turnaround, response-time guarantees, or named paid service SKUs. Projects requiring a defined restoration window should establish separate service coverage or a spare-switch plan.
The source states that Catalyst 1300 products are distributor-only: partners order through distributors and end users through partners. It also states that Catalyst 1300 is sold as a Layer 2 LAN switch in India following India TEC testing. Confirm regional functionality and ordering details before proposing a routed deployment.
Final quote approval should resolve the 370W/375W discrepancies, the C1300-12XT order PID, compact mounting compatibility, required optics, and service obligations. These are procurement dependencies, not assumptions to conceal in the bill of materials.