Platform Scope and Presales Positioning
The Cisco Catalyst 9120AX Series consists of indoor Wi-Fi 6 access points with internal-antenna, external-antenna, and professional-installation variants. Each is listed with an Embedded Wireless Controller (EWC) ordering option. This guide uses the supplied November 2023 datasheet, document C78-742115-12; it does not establish current availability or software support beyond that document.
The platform combines a dedicated 5-GHz radio with a flexible radio that operates in either 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz. Primary engineering considerations are antenna selection, regulatory approval, radio assignment, PoE availability, uplink capacity, environmental conditions, and controller compatibility.
Presales boundary: The source provides PHY rates and RF characteristics, but no application-throughput measurements, supported client-count limits, coverage-radius guarantees, or EWC scaling limits. Those omissions prevent defensible AP-count sizing from the datasheet alone.
Complete Hardware and Ordering Matrix
The source does not classify this family into modular, fixed, and compact product categories. No modular chassis or compact AP SKU is identified. The following matrix reconstructs every explicit AP, accessory, and service part number without inventing those categories.
| Part number | Type | Description and selection basis |
|---|---|---|
| C9120AXI-x | AP | Indoor AP with internal antennas |
| C9120AXE-x | AP | Indoor AP with external antennas for challenging environments |
| C9120AXP-x | AP | Indoor AP for professional installations |
| C9120AXI-EWC-x | EWC AP | Internal-antenna AP with embedded wireless controller |
| C9120AXE-EWC-x | EWC AP | External-antenna AP with embedded wireless controller |
| C9120AXP-EWC-x | EWC AP | Professional-installation AP with embedded wireless controller |
| AIR-ANT2513P4M-N= | Antenna | Antenna explicitly associated with AXP certification up to 13 dBi |
| AIR-CAB002-DART-R= | Antenna cable | 2 ft smart antenna cable for antennas with RP-TNC connectors |
| AIR-PWRINJ6= | Power injector | Supports only 802.3at |
| AIR-PWRINJ5= | Power injector | Supports only 802.3af |
| AS-WLAN-CNSLT | Service | WLAN Network Planning and Design Service |
| AS-WLAN-CNSLT | Service | WLAN 802.11n Migration Service |
| AS-WLAN-CNSLT | Service | WLAN Performance and Security Assessment Service |
The three service descriptions share the same identifier in the source.
The suffix x denotes the regulatory domain. Customers must verify country approval at https://www.cisco.com/go/aironet/compliance. The datasheet states that not all domains are approved and that approved part numbers become available on the Global Price List.
Selection rule: Do not finalize an AP or antenna bill of materials until the country, regulatory domain, antenna arrangement, and controller architecture are established.
Radio Architecture and Capacity Interpretation
| Capability | Datasheet specification |
|---|---|
| 802.11n | 4×4 MIMO, four spatial streams; 20- and 40-MHz channels |
| 802.11n maximum PHY rate | 890 Mbps using 40 MHz at 5 GHz and 20 MHz at 2.4 GHz |
| 802.11ac | 4×4 downlink MU-MIMO; 20-, 40-, 80-, and 160-MHz channels |
| 802.11ac maximum PHY rate | 3.47 Gbps using 160 MHz at 5 GHz |
| 802.11ax | 4×4 downlink MU-MIMO, uplink/downlink OFDMA, TWT, BSS coloring |
| 802.11ax channel widths | 20, 40, 80, and 160 MHz |
| 802.11ax maximum PHY rate | 5.38 Gbps using 160 MHz at 5 GHz and 20 MHz at 2.4 GHz |
| Dual-5-GHz headline rate | 5.2 Gbps, expressed as 2 x 2.6 Gbps |
The 5.38-Gbps and 5.2-Gbps figures describe different operating configurations. Neither is a measured application-throughput guarantee or a single-client throughput commitment.
Flexible Radio Assignment supports:
- 2.4-GHz plus 5-GHz operation: One serving radio per band.
- Dual-5-GHz operation: Both serving radios operate at 5 GHz.
OFDMA divides channel bandwidth into resource units assigned to individual clients in both directions. MU-MIMO divides spatial streams among clients. BSS coloring differentiates neighboring basic service sets to support spatial reuse. TWT schedules client wake periods.
The specifications also list Maximal Ratio Combining, beamforming, Dynamic Frequency Selection, Cyclic Shift Diversity, and transmit/receive A-MPDU and A-MSDU aggregation.
Sizing rules:
- Retain 2.4-GHz service wherever the client inventory requires it; do not assume dual-5-GHz operation is suitable everywhere.
- Base capacity validation on the intended channel width and operating mode, not only the maximum PHY headline.
- Do not assume every client can use four spatial streams.
- Treat supported 160-MHz operation as a capability, not a mandatory channel plan.
- Require deployment-specific validation before quoting concurrent-client capacity or application performance.
Antennas and RF Design
The internal flexible-radio antenna has 4-dBi peak gain at 2.4 GHz and 5-dBi peak gain at 5 GHz. The dedicated 5-GHz antenna has 5-dBi peak gain. These internal antennas are omnidirectional in azimuth.
For external-antenna deployments:
- C9120AXE is certified for antenna gains up to 6 dBi in both bands.
- C9120AXP is certified for gains up to 13 dBi in both bands with AIR-ANT2513P4M-N=.
- External antennas are sold separately.
- Self-Identifiable Antennas are supported on one RP-TNC port.
The AXE and AXP include a compact multi-RF smart antenna connector with a DART interface. AIR-CAB002-DART-R= is required when using this connection with RP-TNC antennas. The smart connector is required when the flexible radio operates as a second 5-GHz serving radio or a Wireless Security Monitoring radio.
Design rule: External-antenna proposals must explicitly include the antenna and any required DART cable. Do not generalize the AXP’s stated 13-dBi certification to an unspecified antenna.
Selected RF Reference Points
The following values are taken from the detailed RF tables. Power is total transmit power, not a per-chain value.
| Mode | Streams | Radio | Transmit power | Receive sensitivity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 802.11a/g, 6 Mbps | 1 | All three listed radio roles | 23 dBm | -100 dBm |
| HE20, MCS0 | 1 | All three listed radio roles | 23 dBm | -98 dBm |
| HE20, MCS11 | 4 | Dedicated 5 GHz | 20 dBm | -64 dBm |
| HE20, MCS11 | 4 | Flexible 2.4 GHz | 19 dBm | -64 dBm |
| HE80, MCS11 | 4 | Either 5-GHz radio | 20 dBm | -57 dBm |
| HE160, MCS11 | 4 | Either 5-GHz radio | 20 dBm | -54 dBm |
The general power-settings list includes 23 dBm (200 mW) and -4 dBm (0.39 mW) for both bands. However, the detailed tables show lower transmit power at some higher MCS values.
RF rule: Use the specific radio, channel width, MCS, and stream-count entry for link-budget work. Do not apply 23 dBm indiscriminately across every modulation.
Ethernet, PoE, and Access-Switch Sizing
The AP provides one RJ-45 100/1000/2500-Mbps Multigigabit Ethernet interface with Auto-MDIX, an RJ-45 management console, and USB 2.0 rated at 4.5 W. The source states that the supported Ethernet speeds work over Category 5e cabling. It does not specify a 10-Gbps AP port.
| Power mode | 2.4-GHz radio | 5-GHz radio | Ethernet | USB | Maximum PoE consumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 802.3at, all models | 4×4 | 4×4 | 2.5 Gbps | Enabled | 25.5 W |
| 802.3af, all models | 1×1 | 1×1 | 1 Gbps | Disabled | 13.4 W |
| 802.3af, all models | 2×2 | Disabled | 1 Gbps | Disabled | 13.4 W |
| 802.3af, all models | Disabled | 2×2 | 1 Gbps | Disabled | 13.4 W |
The input-power requirements also list 802.3bt and Cisco UPOE/UPOE+. No separate operating-mode table is supplied for those sources.
For N APs, the datasheet-based AP consumption totals are:
- Full 802.3at mode:
N x 25.5 W. - Listed 802.3af modes:
N x 13.4 W.
These totals represent the published AP consumption figures, not a complete switch power-supply sizing specification. Actual consumption varies with usage.
Presales rules:
- Specify 802.3at when the design requires the listed full-radio, 2.5-Gbps, USB-enabled mode.
- Do not present AIR-PWRINJ5= as functionally equivalent to AIR-PWRINJ6=.
- Enable LLDP/CDP for proper power negotiation, as recommended in the datasheet.
- Verify both per-port power capability and aggregate switch power availability.
- Evaluate the single 2.5-Gbps wired interface separately from aggregate over-the-air PHY rates.
Controller, Software, and Operational Functions
The source lists these software baselines:
- Cisco Unified Wireless Network Software Release 8.9.x or later.
- Cisco IOS XE Release 16.11 with AP Device Pack, or later.
Supported controller families listed are Catalyst 9800, Cisco 3500, 5520, 8540, and Cisco Virtual Wireless Controller. These statements should not be interpreted as an unrestricted compatibility guarantee for every subsequent release; the source directs readers to release notes and feature matrices.
EWC places controller functionality on the AP and uses Catalyst 9800 Series code. The supplied text does not provide EWC AP limits, client limits, or redundancy specifications.
Operational functions include:
- RF ASIC-based spectrum analysis, CleanAir, wIPS, and DFS detection.
- Intelligent Capture integration with Cisco DNA Center, including tracking over 240 anomalies and on-demand packet review.
- Bluetooth Low Energy 5 for IoT applications such as location tracking and wayfinding.
- USB-based application hosting, containerized applications, and hardware modules.
- DNA Center workflows for application lifecycle management.
- Apple roaming integration and Fast Lane application prioritization.
Fast Locate is explicitly marked as a future capability. It should not be included as a committed delivered feature on the strength of this datasheet.
System memory is 2048 MB DRAM and 1024 MB flash. The status LED reports boot-loader, association, operating, warning, and error states.
Security and Licensing Dependencies
Hardware trust features include image signing, Secure Boot, and a Cisco Trust Anchor module. Listed wireless security capabilities include WPA3, WPA2, WPA, 802.11i, 802.1X, and AES.
The authentication list includes EAP-TLS, TTLS/MSCHAPv2, PEAP variants, EAP-FAST, and EAP-SIM.
Cisco DNA-related integrations include SD-Access, Cisco Spaces, Identity Services Engine, and Analytics and Assurance. Licensing and packaging are deferred to Cisco DNA Software for Wireless; the supplied text contains no subscription SKU matrix, license terms, or entitlement breakdown.
A Smart Account managed through Cisco Smart Software Manager supports device and licensing orders and centralized software-license management.
Commercial rule: Keep hardware capability, software-release support, and purchased entitlement as separate acceptance checks.
Environmental, Physical, and Reliability Specifications
| Parameter | C9120AXI | C9120AXE / C9120AXP |
|---|---|---|
| Dimensions, W x L x H, without brackets | 8.5 x 8.5 x 1.7 in | 8.5 x 8.05 x 2.0 in |
| Metric dimensions as printed | 21.6 x 21.6 x 4.3 cm | 21.6 x 21.6 x 5.1 cm |
| Weight | 2.87 lb / 1.3 kg | 3 lb / 1.36 kg |
| Operating temperature | 32 to 122 F / 0 to 50 C | -4 to 122 F / -20 to 50 C |
| Storage temperature | -22 to 158 F / -30 to 70 C | Same |
| Operating humidity | 10% to 90%, noncondensing | Same |
| Operating altitude test | 9843 ft at 40 C | Same |
| Storage altitude test | 15,000 ft at 25 C | Same |
| MTBF | Not specified | Not specified |
| Acoustic noise | Not specified | Not specified |
The AXE/AXP imperial length of 8.05 in does not correspond to the printed metric length of 21.6 cm. Both are preserved here; mechanical-clearance decisions require verification rather than silently correcting the source.
For C9120AXI, ambient temperature above 40 C causes both radios to change from 4×4 to 2×2 and Ethernet to downgrade to 1 Gbps. USB remains enabled. The note is specifically attached to AXI; the text does not establish the same behavior for AXE/AXP.
Environmental rules:
- Distinguish permitted operation from full-performance operation when sizing AXI above 40 C.
- Treat AXE and AXP as indoor products despite their lower minimum operating temperature.
- Do not quote MTBF, acoustic output, fanless construction, or an ingress-protection rating: none is supplied.
- Budget mounting space separately because listed dimensions exclude mounting brackets.
Compliance listings include UL 2043, IEC/EN/UL 60950-1, Class III equipment, radio regulations, emissions and immunity standards, and RF-safety requirements. Country-specific approval still requires verification.
Warranty, Services, and Procurement Acceptance
The limited lifetime hardware warranty applies for as long as the original end user continues to own or use the product. It includes:
- Full hardware warranty coverage under the stated ownership/use condition.
- 10-day advance hardware replacement.
- Software media warranted defect-free for 90 days.
The 90-day provision concerns software media; it is not a stated software-maintenance entitlement. The supplied warranty text does not establish continuous technical support, onsite repair, or a shorter replacement commitment. Detailed terms are referenced at https://www.cisco.com/go/warranty.
Cisco Services are described as covering WLAN readiness assessment, implementation, solution support, training, and lifecycle planning and management. The datasheet does not specify service response-time tiers or associated support-contract SKUs.
Environmental references address material-content regulations and electronic-waste compliance for products, batteries, and packaging. No product-specific environmental performance figures are supplied. Cisco Capital is described as offering payment solutions in more than 100 countries, without specific financing terms.
Before order approval, the engineering handoff should record:
- Regulatory-domain and antenna approval.
- Complete AP, antenna, cable, injector, and service selections.
- Radio mode and channel-width assumptions.
- Per-port and aggregate PoE validation.
- Temperature-related performance constraints.
- Controller-release and feature compatibility.
- Licensing scope and management requirements.
- Agreed throughput and coverage acceptance tests.
- Warranty expectations versus separately contracted support.
- Open mechanical, reliability, and acoustic requirements requiring additional documentation.